Can I See

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Messages
Tags: , , , , ,

Have pity on me

Luke 18: 35-43
35 As Jesus approached Jericho, a blind man was sitting by the roadside begging. 36 When he heard the crowd going by, he asked what was happening. 37 They told him, “Jesus of Nazareth is passing by.” 38 He called out, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” 39 Those who led the way rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!” 40 Jesus stopped and ordered the man to be brought to him. When he came near, Jesus asked him, 41 “What do you want me to do for you?” “Lord, I want to see,” he replied. 42 Jesus said to him, “Receive your sight; your faith has healed you.” 43 Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus, praising God. When all the people saw it, they also praised God.

“We might expect Jesus to be so preoccupied with the approaching death that he wouldn’t notice a lone voice, crying out to him in the midst of the clamor of the crowd. But his ears are attuned to cries for mercy from his faithful one. Now that he has accomplished his mission and won complete forgiveness, we can be confident he hears our cries for mercy and pity too.”  (Lutheran Hour Ministries)

Sometimes we try to understand faith.  How can I believe in something I cannot see?  Walking without knowing what my next step will lead to or where my next meal will come from.  How can I believe in a God that doesn’t show his face.  Is this real?  Is he there?  We cry out to God in our time of great need the same cry of King David: “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, so far from my cries of anguish? My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer, by night, but I find no rest.”  Just like David we doubt his love because of our sinful nature.  We feel as if we are so messed up that God doesn’t want to deal with us.  Who is blind now?  I know at times we are so stressed that we turn away from him.  We blind ourselves from his love. We forget that he is there for us; he has always been there for us with open arms and the love that we so desperately seek. Lets learn from this poor old blind beggar and call out and trusting in him to heal our sight.

Do we seek God with our whole heart trusting in him even when we cannot see what’s in front of us.  Even with blind faith we shouldn’t doubt what we cannot see. During this season of Lent we need to seek Christ not with fear in our hearts or doubts but with love as a child calls out to his father.

We should constantly remind ourselves that his yoke is light, to cast our cares upon him that he is Our Lord, Our God, The Great I AM.   Here is a Psalm you should meditate on when you feel far from his love and you are losing trust

(Psalm 25: 4-7)
4 Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths. 5 Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. 6 Remember, Lord, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old. 7 Do not remember the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you, Lord, are good.  Amen

Comments
  1. Just knowing Jesus is “son of David”, the anointed one, the Messiah and calling out to him releases the kingdom! Heb 2:8 In putting everything under him, God left nothing that is not subject to him. Wow

Leave a Reply

