The Calling (The Great Commission)

Posted: September 16, 2012 in Messages

Image

Read Isaiah 50: 4-10

The Calling

At first when I was asked to share today’s message, I was thinking “where should I begin?  What should I talk about?”  Now I understand when CFW Walther says when writing a sermon you must be in a state of tribulation.  We heard today about a father who cries out to Christ and says “I believe, but help me overcome my unbelief.”  I feel the same way when preparing my sermons.   To translate God’s message is not a simple task.

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer. Amen

In today’s Old Testament reading, Jesus Christ, speaks directly through the prophet Isaiah.  “I offer my back to those who beat me and my cheeks to those who pulled out my beard; I did not hide my face from mockery and spitting.”  It was like Isaiah foresaw what was to come which was the arrest, trial and the crucifixion of Jesus on the cross for us at no cost to either you or I.

Throughout the bible we read of Saints who sacrificed themselves for the sake of speaking the truth of our Lord.   Stephen was stoned to death for declaring that Jesus was the Messiah.  Paul and Peter were beaten and imprisoned numerous times; St. James was beheaded. Even In today’s society Christians around the world are being persecuted for their beliefs.  This is the reality that we face as believers.  Being Christians has never been easy.  Today in America we may not be at risk of being imprisoned or facing death but will still face various obstacles when sharing the word.  Has it ever happened to you when you bring up Jesus, people roll their eyes, try to change the subject or simply try to avoid you?  At times this could be discouraging and bring out feelings of hopelessness and rejection.  But we must remember what our Lord tells us “Don’t be afraid!  Speak out! Don’t be silent! For I am with you…”

So the question is; are we willing to work through these obstacles?  Jesus put everything out on the line for us.  So why can’t we over come embarrassment, rejection and ridicule?  We need to spread the Word any which way we can.  It is our calling.  It is his will.  And his will for us is this “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations……..”

The Great Commission is not only to be fulfilled by Pastor, Deacons or Lay Ministers. Let’s read what Saint John in Revelations says (1: 5b-6) “To him who loves us and freed us from our sins by his blood and made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve his God and father” in other words It’s my obligation, your obligation our obligation to do so.

Remember we are not a nation of Christians if we don’t fulfill the Great Commission.  We are not alone; Christ has gone through same the thing.  This is why he will never leave us or forsake us.  How true these words: “We do not have a Savior who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have One who has been tempted in every way, just as we are, yet without sin. . . . Let us then with confidence approach the throne of grace that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” Hebrews 4:15

Aren’t we like the father in today’s gospel reading, rather saying “I believe, but help me overcome by my unbelief.”; we can say to the Lord; I have confided in you so I can do your will but help me gain the faith to do so.  We can do great things if we just rely on the Holy Spirit to guide us.

The reason our Lord God came down from heaven to earth, is to serve, to save, and to shed his blood for us, we have received the blessings of our Lord; Now it’s time to share the true gift of salvation to those who are hungry and thirsty.  By providing the true word of God of grace and mercy; the hungry will be fed and the thirsty will not thirst.

Brothers and sisters there’s a war out there.  Now its times to gear up in the Lord’s armor; THE BELT OF TRUTH, THE BREASTPLATE OF RIGHTEOUSNESS, THE BOOTS WHICH IS GOSPEL OF PEACE, THE SHIELD OF FAITH, THE HELMET OF SALVATION AND THE SWORD OF THE SPIRIT and win some souls for Christ.  How do we do that?  By waking up every morning and open our minds to his will; by not shying away from the truth; by not succumbing to our fears.  And know this, Our Lord will help us and we will not be disgraced.  So we should be determined to do his will.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, and remember this: Don’t be afraid!  Speak out! Don’t be silent! For the Lord our God is with you.  Amen Amen and AMEN

Before I leave I will like to share with you these words from a hymn that I came across;

“How Shall they hear,” Who Have Not Heard:

Whom Shall I Send?

Who hears the call

Constant in prayer,

Through toil and pain,

Telling of one who died for all

To Bring a lost world home again

Lord Here I am

Your fire impart

To this poor cold self-centered soul

Touch by my lips, my hands, my heart

And make a world for Christ my goal.

(LBS 831: 3-4)

Lets us pray:

Almighty God, You have called Your Church to witness that in Christ You have reconciled us to yourself.  Grant that by your Holy Spirit that we proclaim the good news of your salvation so that all who hear it may receive the gift of salvation; through Jesus Christ, our Lord. Amen

Leave a Reply

