Good Friday Meditation

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Messages

Image

Eli Eli Lema Sabachthani /My God, My God, why have you forsaken me these are the words spoken by our Lord Jesus Christ when he was hung on the cross to die.

We also find the same cry from King David in Psalm 22 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, so far from my cries of anguish? My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer, by night, but I find no rest.”

When we are presented with overwhelming, uncomfortable or unpleasant situations in our lives we are quick to utter these words as a sign that God has abandoned us.  But in fact it is not He who has abandoned us, we through our sinful nature have abandon Him.  We have turned our backs on God.  Our sins are the barriers to our salvation.  Our Holy God cannot associate himself with our sins.

For this reason God sent his only begotten Son. He was delivered to us not to abandon us but rather to be abandoned so that through Him we might be brought back to God.  Jesus took the sins of the world, our sins, our debt our filthy hearts onto himself so that we can be reconciled with God.  When he hung on that cross we heard that painful statement My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me. At that moment he felt what we feel- abandoned, pushed aside and ignored.  Our sinful nature does not allow us to approach God.  So he took His life, the ultimate life to become the Lamb of God so we can be with him in paradise.  He wrote the check with his blood to pay for our debt; for my sins; for your sins.  So we can be with him.

 As the scripture says: For God who so loved the world he gave his one and only son that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send his son into the world to condemn the world but to save the world through him.

My God, My God, why have you forsaken me; we may think of those words as a sign of mourning but today those words are music to my ears,  Those words paved the path to our salvation. Today we can look at the cross as God speaks into our hearts; My Child, My Child, I haven’t forsaken you.

Prayer: Almighty God, Our heavenly Father, because of your tender love towards us sinners you have given us Your Son that, believing in him, we might have everlasting life. Continue to grant us your Holy Spirit that we may remain steadfast in this faith to the end and finally come to life everlasting; Through Jesus Christ, Our Lord. Amen

Leave a Reply

